Brand new Moodle theme released! Based on Boost and packed with exciting new features.
View Demo

Moodle Tip: How to remove messaging

By default, Moodle allows users to message each other. However, some organisations might want to prevent students from messaging each other. In this tutorial we’ll show you how to disable your Moodle site’s messaging system.

Step 1 – Disable Messaging Site-Wide

Log in as an admin and go to: Site administration > Advanced features
Find the option “Enable messaging system” and untick the checkbox. Save your changes.

moodle-disable-messaging

Step 2 – Remove relevant link

After Step 1, some links related to messaging (see figure before) will be removed automatically.

moodle-messaging-related-links

However, you will need to manually remove the “messages” link in the user dropdown menu.

Go to: Site administration > Appearance > Themes > Theme settings and remove the message-related code inside of the “User menu items” input field (see figure below).

moodle-remove-user-menu-item

Save your changes and the link will disappear from the user menu:

moodle-user-menu-remove-message-link

Want to master Moodle?

Moodle 3.0x Masterclass: Complete Educator's Guide to Moodle

Moodle Tutorial for Educators - Learn Moodle to create WORLD CLASS online courses. Leverage Moodle 3 like a BOSS!

1500+ students enrolled

Are you a Moodle admin?

Moodle Administration Tutorial: Beginner, Intermediate Guide

Learn World Class Moodle LMS Admin, Configure, Theme, Manage Courses, Users, Permissions, Roles, Security, Plugins...

2000+ students enrolled